Leonidio was named after the chapel of St Leonidas mentioned in the Byzantine edict of Andronicus Palaiologos in 1293.
The distinctive attribute of Leonidio is the imposing burgundy builders overlooking the town. Leoniodio is nowadays considered a most picturesque and traditional settlement.
The inhabitants are of Tsakonian ancestry and is one of the few settlements where one can hear the Tsakonian dialect, considered one of the Greekworld’s oldest. The Tsakonians are ancestors of Laconian colonizers.